As I have been making my way home in my body (coming back from decades of dissociation with my physical being), I am noticing things in myself and in others.

The mind and the body are manifestations of spirit.  They are expressions, if you will.

Some people are very in tune with their bodies and some are very in tune with their minds.

Not every mind has a healthy body and not every body has a healthy mind.

A true measure of health is how we treat ourselves and each other.

It is about noticing things.  How am I feeling right now?  What has led to this feeling?  (Could be a sore back or knee, could be a feeling of exhaustion, could be indigestion).  How is someone reacting to me?  Facial expressions and body language conveys so much information.

Cause and effect.  Many people stop at the effect.  They treat symptoms, rather than addressing the cause.  So one must be aware of the cause of the effects being experienced.

Act accordingly.  When something causes pain and discomfort in the body, that is the body’s way of communicating that the behavior needs to change.

The same is true emotionally.  If something is causing a lot of pain, it is time to figure out why.  Is it the situation?  Is it the people?  Is it the way I am looking at things?  Change what needs to be changed.

Likewise, in social situations, read the people in the room.  Notice the body language, facial expressions, intonation, and even the words being used.  How a person says something is as important as what they’re saying.  What are they conveying?  Is my behavior appropriate and productive given the context?

Having discernment and appropriate behavior toward self and others comes from awareness and is indicative of good health.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.