Severed Ties

Long ago, I gave up the roles I was assigned at birth.

Being the child of my mother, meant that I was worthless and I was a burden. So I stopped being her child.

Showing my stress caused pain to my grandmother, who felt helpless when it came to my situation. So I stopped being the troubled grandchild.

Floundering in school, I was the idiot savant. I knew a lot, but never did my assignments. Teachers often confessed their frustration with me because I could be in honors classes if I just did the work. So I stopped being the disappointing student too.

I severed the ties to the roles I was given and have isolated so much.

I’m not anyone any more.

I don’t even know how to be anyone any more. I tend to go out of my way to go unnoticed and to have as little impact as possible. Withdrawn into myself.

3 thoughts on “Severed Ties

  1. I am so sorry you had to go through the same pain. I have an orc mother as well. I believe you and you don’t have to be alone. You are badass for even being alive!
    ( ´ ▽ ` ).。o♡
    ╰(*´︶`*)╯♡

    Like

  2. A mother who died, her family that cast me out, a father like your mother, a brother that left me midst chemo, a body that tried to take me out with cancer, a mind that contemplated suicide. I too have severed, but have started to recreate, leave what you had to courage to step away from and step by step make a new path, no prescribed roles just what you want, surrounded by hope and a building love of yourself … I think and hope I am doing this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

