Reflections


How I treat myself: It’s not something I think about a lot. I’ve always been dismissive of myself.

So I’ve been including my physical self more in my decisions.

I want to be well, so I have to treat myself well. This means that I must actively love myself to do what is in my own best interest.

I think a lot of people learn to scrutinize themselves early on. It’s just how we’re socialized. 

This scrutiny keeps us focused on seeing things wrong with ourselves and we miss the underlying theme.

I’m not depressed because of a chemical imbalance in my brain. 

I’m depressed because I have no sense of self in this world. I’m sad because my only purpose in life has been to survive.

Life is so much more than just surviving. 

It’s about learning, experiencing, loving, laughing, crying. It’s about figuring out ways to make life better for ourselves and the next generation, and not at the expense of others. 

It’s about personal growth, adaptation, and ultimately, evolution.

One does not view the ocean and say the waves are imperfect, so why do we do this to ourselves?

There’s a difference between seeing ourselves and judging ourselves.

If we just take a look, can we honestly say that we are living the lives of people with a worthwhile future?

What needs to change? Ultimately, it is individual responsibility to be the change we need. Society is the sum of its individuals, after all.

Leave a Reply

