Identity / Self

I have often felt a sense of frustration in that I don’t know who I am.

There are people who are proud of who they are, showing themselves to the world, unapologetically. 

Me? I don’t know. I don’t identify as any particular person or group. 

Some people build their identities based on the groups they belong to: male / female / nonbinary, ethnicity, religion, political affiliation, sexual orientation, and so on.

I can’t do that. 

I’m a sentient being who happens to be a human. All of those groups that I can be categorized as, are not me. I am my own person and I happen to be this, that, and the other thing. 

Those things add and take away from how I see the world. But my race, my upbringing, my everything, they are not me.

I apply this thinking to all people and all life. Beings happen to have been born as they are and live as they do, this is what we are.

Leave a Reply

