How I Think Matters

I’ve lost 100 lbs in the past 2-3 years from simply changing the way I view my dietary needs and decisions.

Often times, I would choose my diet based on pleasure or comfort. So if I was stressed, I might be sipping soda all day.

I attempted to quit soda a few times in the past, without success. I was looking at it as something I liked and was giving up. 

Also, I would get terrible headaches from soda withdrawal. I went so far as to replace soda with coffee, thinking it was the caffeine. However, it was not.

Finally, I was able to kick that bad habit when I viewed it as a health decision. I am at the point in my life where I want to respect my body and do what makes sense health-wise.

I listen to my body now. I recognize that a lot of products make me feel unwell and that isn’t something I want to do to myself. 

Now that I understand the consequences of consuming certain things, I am more mindful of what I put into my body.

I know most people have that sense to begin with, but bad dietary habits can be learned early on and they can be hard to break. I think maltreatment of the body is also symptomatic of being disconnected from the body. It isn’t intentional, but more of just an unconscious way of being.

Change takes time, patience, and a change in view.

Leave a Reply

