Hard Truths and Cultivating Compassion

I’m no stranger to tragedy. Let’s just say, I am desensitized to the harshness of reality.

I realized not long ago, that I may come across as callous when it comes to these things. A number of people in my life have been affected by murder, suicide, and tragedy. Myself, included.

In conversation, someone will share with me that someone close to them was murdered. I give my condolences, ask how they’ve dealt with it, and just take it in stride.

It’s not that I don’t care. I care about you and how you’re doing, but death is a part of life. Tragic death is a part of poverty culture. (I acknowledge it affects all social classes, but especially the poor).

Show me a family with addicts who aren’t prone to tragic deaths. 

Feeling self pity over the violent loss of a loved one is doing a disservice to yourself. Grieve. Put energy into putting good into the world, instead of letting it be an excuse.

I want so much, to see people heal and live their lives. I hope to be part of the coming change, because society cannot sustain this way of living any more.

There is so much needless suffering. 

How long does society have to ail before we do whatever is necessary to heal?

I’ll go back to an analogy I used before. If your neighbor’s house is on fire, do you help them put it out, or wait until your house catches fire?

Don’t let suffering be in vain. Let suffering transform into compassion for yourself and mankind.

Society desperately needs compassion and action. And that starts with you and me. Healing your own wounds and using what you’ve learned along the way helps you and helps those in your daily life.

Our attitude toward life shows in how we interact with each other. Little things add up. Offer to help someone hold a bag while they unlock their door if you see they’re fumbling. Let someone out of the shopping center if a bunch of people kept blocking their way. You just might make someone’s day a little easier. They might not even notice. The point is, you’re giving someone a break just because you can. 

The proper term is “mindfulness”. Be mindful, because what you put out into the world does matter.

Sometimes, we have to let go of ideas so that we can be present and be mindful. 

For example, nearly everyone I have ever met has some sort of complex. Maybe they think they’ll never amount to anything. Maybe they feel their sibling was the favorite or the best at everything. Or maybe they are hung up on their own horrible experiences. Everyone is dealing with something that eats at their sense of self.

A person can either recognize it as an introject (a belief someone else put into their head about themself) or they can believe the lie and keep sabotaging themselves.

We have to let go of ideas such as the world is a terrible place and things won’t get better. It is this tiny little idea that was planted in our minds at a young age, and it prevents us from actualizing our true nature. 

We are meant to progress and evolve. 

Evolution did not end with opposable thumbs. 

Suffering is the gateway to compassion. 

Compassion does not recognize race, religion, gender, orientation, or even species.

Seriously. Try it.

6 thoughts on “Hard Truths and Cultivating Compassion

    1. I imagine the process is different for everyone.

      I can teach someone words to a song, but a person must figure out to sing on their own.

      For me, I acknowledge the negative thoughts / beliefs and know that they are not true. Those thoughts then lose power over me and I am able to act and live my life.

      Typos?

      Like

Leave a Reply

