First Impression

I’ve texted back and forth with my brother a few times now. I get the impression that he has held on to that idealized version of myself that he had wanted to know when he was 10.

I will just be myself and hope I meet or exceed his expectations, in some meaningful way. It is hard to live up to ideals. I know I always lose interest in people after I get to know them better, because it is seldom they live up to the idealized version of them that I’ve created in my mind. 

I don’t know if that is necessarily a fair view of this, but I recognize it.

Perhaps it is just human nature to want to think the best of someone, despite not knowing them. It is that recognition that individuals tend to be inherently good, but also acknowledging that people aren’t always what they seem.

We all have baggage and it affects everyone differently. I just have to stay aware.

Leave a Reply

