Family Reunion

This is a follow up to my post about feeling the loss of family.

I reached out to my dad to get my sister’s contact information. He didn’t have anything current. Within five minutes after I left the conversation, my brother sent a friend request. He just happened to be planning to come to town this weekend. He might bring my other siblings.

I haven’t seen them in 14 years. We were all just children then.

Without overthinking it: the worst that could happen is it doesn’t work out. Some old wounds may reopen. Some new wounds may form. But that’s life, isn’t it? 

There’s potential to be part of a family. They’ve all had a hard upbringing, like myself. We have common ground and hopefully the insight to be able to enjoy each other in the present.

I have a sense of accomplishment for choosing love instead of fear. 

Also, this plays into another theme I’ve picked up on: stuckness. I made a potentially life changing decision and I am moving into action.

Leave a Reply

