Suicidal Thoughts – Origin

Where do suicidal thoughts come from? I think they come from having an experience so bad that death seems like the preferable course of action. How else does suicide ever become an option? For me, this traces back to the feeling of having no escape and having to wait for the unspeakable; it comes from being conscious but unable to move–being crushed and attacked and not able to do a goddamn thing about it. I couldn’t scream. I couldn’t cry. At some points I felt nothing at all, not even my breath. It is in this quiet space between feelings, where I felt like no one could hurt me anymore. This is the space I’ve forever claimed as my own.

2 thoughts on “Suicidal Thoughts – Origin

  1. Death is God’s way of telling you you’re fired. Suicide is your way of telling him you quit.

    Suicidal thoughts come from a variety of sources. Mostly, they come because the person has something they refuse to live with – illness, heartbreak, political situation and so forth. The best way to help a suicidal person is to help them set up the method, and respect whatever they wish to do. Dying is not a crime, but a right. Choosing for someone else that they have to live is like sentencing them to death. It’s not your life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

